Development of Halal Goat Cheese using Rennet Like from Vegetable Source to Replace Commercial Rennet Source



Widitya Tri Nugraha(1*)

(1) Faculty of Animal Science, Gadjah Mada University, Indonesia
(*) Corresponding Author

Abstract


The production of milk in Indonesia is very low, mainly from Holstein Friesian cows, and still ignore other sources of milk (goat,sheep, buffalo and mare ). The purpose of this study was to replace uncertain halal rennet which normally used commercial rennet by rennet like from vegetable sources. Milk from Bligon goat reared by small farmer in mountainous region of Sleman district was used as raw material. Rennet from commercial sources and rennet like from extract leaves of tin (Ficus carica) were used to develop goat cheese and analogue goat cheese. Commercial rennet as well as rennet like has not contained material from pork origin detection using speci c kit. Despite it, commercial rennet was still considered uncertain for development of halal goat cheese due to not completely halal certi cate and should be replaced by certain halal rennet like sources. Both milk that was used as raw material for making cheese using either commercial rennet as rennet like contain 14.95%; 3.65%; 4.65%; and 85.06% of total solid, fat, protein, and water percentage respectively. Analogue goat cheese have presented 730.1 gr; 30.02%: and 11.97% of curd weight, total solid and protein respectively while commercial rennet cheese have shown 335.5gr; 42.59%; and 15.12% curd weight, total solid, and protein respectively. It was concluded that extract leaves of tin (Ficus carica) could be use as substitution of commercial rennet. 


Keywords


Development of Halal Cheese, Goat Milk, Commercial Rennet, Rennet Like

Full Text:

PDF




Article Metrics

Abstract views : 1342 | views : 674

Refbacks

  • There are currently no refbacks.